Previous in Forum: Sea Monsters??   Next in Forum: Head-on Winds and High-Speed Trains
Close
Close
Close
7 comments
Associate

AC Motor to Move a Train

11/06/2006 8:30 PM

I am a mechanical engineer. I am trying to use an electric motor to move a train in a factory, So I need a motor with a high stating torque but smooth in operation?

I will depend in my selection of the motor hosepower, that I will calculate the required torque and the required speed, This is right from mechanical point of view, but i dont know if it is right or wrong from electrical point of view, as there is something called rated power for the motor, and that the motor gives an output speed which is constant for a range of torques. So please can anybody clarify this point!

Thanks for you all

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member China - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 14

Re: AC Motor to Move a Train

11/07/2006 2:19 AM

Thats right, As you work out the power for the train moving you can select suitable tractive motor. power= torque x speed.

we can offer you that.

info@ndt.cn

Register to Reply
Guru
Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member China - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 14

11/07/2006 7:08 PM

pls make sure here the term of speed is rotation speed not linear speed. because we use torque here not force.

Register to Reply
Anonymous Poster

11/08/2006 2:00 AM

Yes the rated power of motor is output power of the motor at a given speed.

for example for a 60 Cycle motor with a sync speed of 1800 RPM rated outut is typically measured at 1550 RPM about 87% of sync speed.

torque is the measured value at the rated RPM and from there onward you can get output power.