Close
Close
Close
8 comments
Anonymous Poster

Getting Started With Programming

11/27/2006 2:15 AM

Hi,

I am a programmer in the normal desktop applications area, working in Hyderabad, India.

I am very good at "C" language and understand some low level stuff (binary arithmetic etc). I want to "buy" something (like a PLC or Microcontroller) and do one practical exercise to understand programming outside of the regular PC. Is there such a hands-on tutorial available? Also, what equipment (and where in India) do I need to buy?

Thank you,

Sreedhar.

Pathfinder Tags: programming software tutorials
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Active Contributor

Re: Getting Started With Programming

11/28/2006 12:21 AM

You wrote: do one practical exercise to understand programming outside of the regular PC.

Do you mean only "Embedded software development" and I guess in "C" Language?

You can start with a simple 8051-based microcontroller kit. They are available at most of the places (there are hundreds of brands / specifications / price range). You need to select one that suits your requirement. The popular ones that I remember are Dallas Semiconductors (MAXIM). http://www.maxim-ic.com/products/microcontrollers/8051/development_tools/. These must be available in Hyderabad too. An entry level kit should cost between Rs.1000/- to 2500/-.

To work with a microcontroller, you need to know (to a fair extent) about the underlying electronics too. For example, the interfacing mechanism to access another peripheral etc (even to turn an LED or a motor on / off). You need to study the micro-controller also (through their Data Sheets).

There are plenty of books (Amazon.com: search under "Embedded Systems Programming"). Example: http://www.amazon.com/Art-Programming-Embedded-Systems/dp/0122748808/sr=1-5/qid=1164691197/ref=sr_1_5/102-9610964-9210564?ie=UTF8&s=books

Govinda Padaki