Previous in Forum: manufacturing ERP system or MES   Next in Forum: Nitrile Rubber Sleeves Cutting
Close
Close
Close
11 comments

CNC Machines With PCB / Case Modification In Mind

06/21/2011 11:20 AM

As an electronic technician I have an interest in making my own PCB but also in modifications to current hardware and cases.

I am looking for a CNC machine that is capable of simple dual layer autorouting ( by reversing the artwork to route the opposing side ) and also capable of simple case modifications like drilling and milling. The machine must be able to have an X-axis travel of at least 50 cm and Y-axis travel of 50 cm. I would prefer if the Z-Axis could have around 50 cm of travel as well, but this isn't absolute. If the unit can have a small array of interchangable tools of say 5 to 10 pieces that would be great and other preferences and considerations would be a camera with crosshairs along with software that runs on Windows XP. I prefer the interface to be USB but any other connection will be ok, like Ethernet, serial / parallel. Speed and torque are not terribly important, although I would like the unit to go down to ~1 RPM, accuracy is very important, the unit must also be durable as well as reliable and require a low level of maintenance. I plan on milling wood, mild steel and plastic. The unit also needs to be able to mill in vertical and horizontal axis. One final consideration is that the chuck must be able to accept drill bits down to 0.2 mm in size.

I have seen that Mazak gets a good rap, but in viewing their site I quickly realize I am well out of my depth and require some help.

Cheers,

Paul

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Not a New Member Hobbies - Musician - New Member Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Good Answers: 467

Re: CNC Machines With PCB / Case Modification In Mind

06/21/2011 11:28 AM