Previous in Forum: How to Design a Shaft With Low Deflection and Twist?   Next in Forum: Chemical and Physical Resonance
Close
Close
Close
21 comments
Active Contributor

Replacing Formed Channel with Rectangular Tubing

02/26/2016 9:32 PM

Hello all.

I have a question in regards to replacing a formed channel frame with a piece of rectangular tubing. The channel is 3" x 8" .375" and 22 ft long. It is on a M-35 "Duece", army 6x6. I have attached a picture of the truck. I am going to add an extended cab and a pick up truck style box, rollcage and modern more powerful engine. The truck weighs in at 14,000 pounds and is rated for 5000 pounds off road and 10,000 pounds on road. I plan to replace the axles and brakes to modern, more safer designs based on a Ford F550. Disk brakes will be on all 6 wheels.

I was a welder and machinist in my past life and I have done work like this in the past on nodwells and other offroad equipment. I will be drilling out the sides of the tubing and welding in pieces of sched 80 pipe to prevent the sides collapsing where fasteners are needed. I want to cut down on weight and height (has to clear my garage). I would like to replace the channel with 3"x6"x.250 rectangular tubing for neatness, lighter weight and strength. From what I have been told and could figure out from the manuals the formed channel MAY have received quench hardening. The loading capabilities of the truck will be reduced to 3000 pounds on road use, NEVER off road.

I plan on bringing it to an engineer, but I was hoping I could at least be on the right track before I brought it in.

Thank You,

letssled

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru

Good Answers: 1744

Re: Replacing formed channel with rectangular tubing

02/26/2016 10:02 PM

In reply to #1

02/26/2016 10:29 PM

Yes, that is it, I guess my pic didn't attach....Thanks!

Register to Reply
Guru