Previous in Forum: What Is It?   Next in Forum: Can You Spot the Problem?
Close
Close
Close
21 comments
Associate

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 47
Good Answers: 1

Remote Switch for Fan

05/30/2016 4:51 PM

I'm using a remote switch to turn on a inline fan in my home A/C duct work. I need the extra boost to have enough air flow at night in the bedrooms. The ducts where an afterthought and have many bends, etc. The inline fan works fine, I only want the extra air flow at night, no need to pull the extra cooling upstairs when no one is up there. The trouble is with the remote switch when the fan shuts down and then turns back on, the remote switch does not come back on. So, does anyone know of a remote switch I can get that will stay on when the power is lost and only turn off when I push the remote. I have the remote wired into the a/c fan, so when the fan runs it puts power to the remote switch. Thanks.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".
Guru
Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - Been there, done that. Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 15013
Good Answers: 926
#1

Re: Remote switch

05/30/2016 5:05 PM

Please hire an electrician to do this installation. You haven't mentioned a single attribute that is critical to know for a safe installation.

__________________
"Don't disturb my circles." translation of Archimedes last words
Register to Reply
Associate

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 47
Good Answers: 1
#2
In reply to #1

Re: Remote switch

05/30/2016 5:21 PM

I have been using this for about 8 years this way, just trying to make it a little more convenient, I wired my house myself which I built in 1974, and my two shops in the mid eights. Installed a emergency Generator and many other projects over the years, I just asked a simple question. Where I can buy this type of remote switch, I know I can do enougth home work and figure it out but I though the board was also used for this purpose and save me a little time, with out criticism.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: at the beach in Florida
Posts: 30374
Good Answers: 1699
#3

Re: Remote switch

05/30/2016 6:00 PM

I would just install an on/off switch on the wall and leave the fan on all the time I was upstairs.....but if you must have remote control then I would use one available for ceiling fans, and wire the fan through one of the on/off controls...You may also want to consider shutting the strongest air flow vent downstairs to boost air upstairs...The coolest air always finds the lowest point in the structure...that's why down here in Florida we usually put the return air vent on the second floor to counter act the natural air movement in a 2 story structure....

Something like this available from local Lowes or other ceiling fan dealer...

http://www.lowes.com/pd_564591-57278-P2618-01_1z0rsum__?productId=50096468&pl=1

I've installed these for people who didn't want to get up at night to adjust the ceiling fan speed....they have the added convenience of light control with dimmer....

__________________
Break a sweat everyday doing something you enjoy
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Land of Fruits and Nuts
Posts: 4203
Good Answers: 52
#4

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 4:00 AM

GE created a system called ZWave, which is a wireless switching system. The cool thing is that many other companies make products that are ZWave compatible.

What you'll need.

1. An extension cord with a ZWave device built in. You plug it in between the fan and the outlet.

2. A ZWave remote control. You program the ZWave device to one of the remote control buttons. Very easy to do.

3. If you want to have access via a smart phone or tablet, you'll need a gateway - Lowes sells the Iris Gateway for around $100. This is optional - you could control it from the remote control only if you prefer.

That's it! Very easy to do. Just make sure the ZWave plug device can handle the current (or wattage) of the fan.

I've used this set up to control my whole house fan, lights in my garage (one switch for 3 light fixtures) and the outside patio lights. The system works great and even if there's a power outage. When the power comes back on, the system works like the power never turned off - which is what I think you need.

__________________
Enjoy and be happy! Life is too short!
Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wherever my motorcycle has taken me!
Posts: 384
Good Answers: 24
#5

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 6:24 AM

An X10 home automation remote & receiver, and an Appliance Module will do the job. The Appliance Module will not change state from a power outage.

__________________
Common sense is an oxymoron and the world is full of morons. (I am not one of them)!!!
Register to Reply
Guru
United States - Member - Born, raised halfway 'round .....

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Speedway.....
Posts: 1115
Good Answers: 24
#6

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 8:32 AM

Based on your descriptions, you have wired your remote fan control incorrectly! It seems that you added an inline fan to boost normal airflow, plus the ability to recirculate the remaining cold air inside the duct.....even when the main AC system has already reached its temperature setpoint and the airhandling fan has shut off?

If my above assumption is correct, your project is very doable and easy when you have the knowledge / familiarity of the air handling section of your AC system!

__________________
vsar
Register to Reply
Guru
Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - Been there, done that. Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island NY
Posts: 15013
Good Answers: 926
#8
In reply to #6

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 9:22 AM

Precisely why I recommended hiring help. This seems like such a simple problem that either it is beyond the OP's capability or there are complications the OP is not telling us.

__________________
"Don't disturb my circles." translation of Archimedes last words
Register to Reply
Guru
United States - Member - Born, raised halfway 'round .....

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Speedway.....
Posts: 1115
Good Answers: 24
#9
In reply to #8

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 9:41 AM

I agree and completely understand your point of view...

Although there are other easy ways available, I felt it is safer not elaborate!

__________________
vsar
Register to Reply
Guru
Hobbies - Fishing - Old Salt Hobbies - CNC - New Member United States - US - Statue of Liberty - New Member

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rosedale, Maryland USA
Posts: 5198
Good Answers: 266
#7

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 9:03 AM

Rewire the remote receiver so that it has power all the time. Have it switch a relay. Run the switched HVAC power to run the fan thru it.

__________________
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving in a pretty, pristine body but rather to come sliding in sideways, all used up and exclaiming, "Wow, what a ride!"
Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wherever my motorcycle has taken me!
Posts: 384
Good Answers: 24
#10

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 10:04 AM

I think a number of you are over thinking things here. From what the OP has stated this setup has been in use for several years and the only issue is the remote switch he is using goes to "zero state" when there is a power outage. This is typical of many remote switches, particularly those that control lighting in non-industrial settings. I've seen many remote controlled ceiling fan/light setups that do the same thing. All that is needed is a different switch, or remote/switch combination, that stays on when the power goes off so the fan will resume running when power is restored. This is typical of many remote switch modules made for appliances, like those in the X10 product line.

__________________
Common sense is an oxymoron and the world is full of morons. (I am not one of them)!!!
Register to Reply
Associate

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 47
Good Answers: 1
#12
In reply to #10

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 11:51 AM

WMerryall: you are right on thank you. also what Don said also would work only I always do not want the fan on at night. that is why a switch. I would have hard wired but it is almost impossible to run the wires, as I said early this was a after thought, The house had Elect. heat when I built it so the duct work was a real bear on the second floor.. I now also have Geo ground water heat.and A/C Which my buddy the well driller any myself did all the out side work. Love the Geo

Register to Reply
Associate

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 27
Good Answers: 3
#13
In reply to #12

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 12:01 PM

for what its worth, I run my fan all year.

Register to Reply
2
Associate

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 27
Good Answers: 3
#11

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 11:14 AM

here is a little different line of thought. as you stated you only want the AUX fan to run at night, so get a timer that is set to be ON during the evening hours then use a 120 VAC contactor in series with the output of the timer to the fan. Use the Furnace Fan as the ON for the contactor. What you will have is the timer will enable the FAN at night, but will only run when the Furnace fan is on which will close the contactor allowing the AUX Fan to run. No remote

Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Guru
United States - Member - Born, raised halfway 'round .....

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Speedway.....
Posts: 1115
Good Answers: 24
#15
In reply to #11

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 3:35 PM

"Use the Furnace Fan as the ON for the contactor. What you will have is the timer will enable the FAN at night, but will only run when the Furnace fan is on which will close the contactor allowing the AUX Fan to run."

If the above statement is true and correct, the main "Furnace fan" needs to be ON to give power to the contactor relay that in turn will enable the power to run his "Aux fan" ???

Sounds like just a double talk, opposite to what the OP wanted; his inline "aux fan" to run when the main "furnace fan" turns off at night!

__________________
vsar
Register to Reply
2
Guru
Hobbies - CNC - New Member

Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lost Wages Nevada
Posts: 1578
Good Answers: 54
#14

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 12:11 PM

How about a duct air flow sensing switch. The inline fan will only run when thew duct has positive air flow!

__________________
Though it does seem he frequently has a Swiss Army knife or Leatherman and a roll of duct tape with him.
Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
2
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: at the beach in Florida
Posts: 30374
Good Answers: 1699
#16

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 3:57 PM

You could put a separate t-stat control for just the aux fan...

__________________
Break a sweat everyday doing something you enjoy
Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 2)
Associate

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 47
Good Answers: 1
#17
In reply to #16

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 6:08 PM

That would work but it would have to be a wireless one and then run to a solenoid right.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: at the beach in Florida
Posts: 30374
Good Answers: 1699
#18
In reply to #17

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 7:33 PM

You mean a relay not a solenoid....

You could use something like this and just use the fan circuit...

__________________
Break a sweat everyday doing something you enjoy
Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Wherever my motorcycle has taken me!
Posts: 384
Good Answers: 24
#19

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

05/31/2016 7:56 PM

Under $50, will do exactly what you want and more. You can control the fan with the remote and/or set the timer. Add more modules and control lights and more. https://www.thehomeautomationstore.com/packaged-deals/home-automation/kitwirelesskr19a.html

__________________
Common sense is an oxymoron and the world is full of morons. (I am not one of them)!!!
Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Land of Fruits and Nuts
Posts: 4203
Good Answers: 52
#20

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

06/07/2016 1:18 AM

Zwave is an industry standard and is as simple as plugging in an extension cord. Go to Amazon.com and search for Aeon Labs DSC06106. Then search for GE 45600. Programming is super easy and it doesn't need continual power to operate. Being that it's the industry standard, you can get thousands of other Zwave products, so the remote isn't limited to one use.

__________________
Enjoy and be happy! Life is too short!
Register to Reply
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Hobbies - Fishing - New Member

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Frankfurt am Main, Germany. 50.390866N, 8.884827E
Posts: 17989
Good Answers: 200
#21

Re: Remote Switch for Fan

06/10/2016 5:50 AM

There are relays around that "latch" on and off, so the "state" is maintained even when power is lost and returned.

This might be a cheap and easy solution, assuming I understood your needs correctly.

Also a 24 hour digital timer with battery backup, could automate that for $10 more outlay!!

Your present switch could be used as Master "override" on the timer when say someone is ill and in bed during the day and needs more air.....or just having "fun" during daylight hours!

Best of luck.

__________________
"What others say about you reveals more about them, than it does you." Anon.
Register to Reply
Register to Reply 21 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Andy Germany (1); Autobroker (2); digger104 (3); Don Blashka (2); Original_Macgyver (1); ozzb (1); redfred (2); SolarEagle (3); vsar (3); wmerryall (3)

Previous in Forum: What Is It?   Next in Forum: Can You Spot the Problem?

Advertisement