Previous in Forum: Will Off-center Press Press More on One Side?   Next in Forum: Onan RS1200
Close
Close
Close
11 comments
Active Contributor

How Can I Know When RC Battery is Charged?

12/07/2018 2:02 AM

I am new to electric RC and I have a couple of questions. I have a Hitec Optic 6 and I use it to charge the Tx. Using the charger that comes with the Tx, I can leave it charging overnight without any problem because the Tx uses a NiCD battery. However, I also use this to charge my Rx battery, which is a 300mAh 4.8v NiMH. The Optic 6 charger charges at 50mAh per hour so I figure I can leave the Rx battery charging for around 6 hours. But here is my problem. When I am done flying for the day, I cannot tell how much voltage is left in the Rx battery because I never run it dead, so I never know how long to charge it. I appologize if these are stupid questions.
Is there any trick to tell when the Rx battery is fully charged? Should I just plug it in and check it every hour until it gets warm?
By not fully discharging a NiHM before recharging, will that make the battery wear out faster?
I know with LiPo, you should never let it drop below a certain voltage, as it can permanently damage the battery. Is this an issue with NiCD and NiMH as well?
Thanks guys!

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: rc battery
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Fans of Old Computers - ZX-81 - New Member

Good Answers: 27

Re: how to know when rc battery is charge?

12/07/2018 3:33 AM