Previous in Forum: Drum Pumps   Next in Forum: A 420 WPL 3/6 vs A 333 gr 3/6
Close
Close
Close
18 comments

Drying Mechanisms Help

03/10/2019 10:01 PM

Hey guys,

I'm a third-year Mech Eng student and I am currently in the midst of my dissertation. My dissertation topic (analysis and testing of the most effective fruit drying techniques) involves a look at several fruit drying mechanisms used in industry. The techniques I will be looking at are infrared, convection, kerosene, solar and Electric drying. Essentially, I am researching which technique is the most effective for drying and also if it is possible to incorporate and merge multiple techniques in order to produce an even more superior drying mechanism. I wanted to ask you guys if you have any ideas or suggestions on what experiments I could perform in order to ascertain the level of drying speed and quality for each technique?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1744

Re: Drying Mechanisms Help

03/10/2019 10:20 PM

Well of course it always comes down to price vs quality desired...generally speaking the faster you can dry the fruit the better for preservation of nutrients...but the method may be varied according to specific use...whether food or nutraceutical...

Nice study here on different methods...