Previous in Forum: LV transformer bushing dimensions   Next in Forum: Earthing- Strip or round conductor electrodes
Close
Close
Close
18 comments
Commentator

Good Answers: 1

MOSFET SWITCHING

04/16/2022 8:17 AM

Hi Engineers,

I am a mechanical engineer with barely some exposure to electronics.

I was trying to make a low power inverter using SG3525 as the gate driver as shown in the circuit below.

The gate drive waveform (At G1 and G2) is shown below.

The cycle time is 20 uS (Frequency = 50 KhZ) with dead time 2 uS.

My expectation was that the MOSFET would be turned OFF as soon as the gate goes LOW. Instead it kept on conducting partially for 2 uS before it turned OFF completely.

Contrary to my expectation that the MOSFET would be turned ON only when the gate goes HIGH, it started to conduct partially 0.50 uS before the gate went HIGH as indicated in the screen shot below.

Can someone explain why the MOSFET not switching properly and advice possible remedy?

Thanking you and with kind regards,

Job Thykkoottathil

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1726

Re: MOSFET SWITCHING

04/16/2022 1:14 PM

In reply to #1

04/16/2022 3:14 PM

Dear Guru Solar Eagle,

Thank you very much for forwarding the link. Unfortunately, the problem ( not turning OFF after the gate drive is removed and turning ON before the gate pulse is issued) is not addressed anywhere in Mr. Swagatham's post.

Kind regards,

Job Thykkoottathil

Register to Reply
Guru

In reply to #2

04/16/2022 4:39 PM