Previous in Forum: Sun Radiation Measurement   Next in Forum: Quiery about Ultrasonic level & flow Transmitter
Close
Close
Close
5 comments

choose the good accelerometer

01/15/2008 10:09 AM

Hello,

I'm working on a new project using accelerometer and I have no experience on them, could you help me?

The system consists in a mouse inside a beaker full of water. We try to capt the vibration of the beaker to be able to say what the mouse is doing (resting, swimming or climbing).Acoording to the first test the frequency we are interressed in are (1 to 35 Hz).

The provider of my actual accelerometer ignore is sensitivity, so do I!

How could I deduce the sensitivity of my sensor?

Or, if somebody has already worked on this type of project, wihich sentivity did he use?

thank you.

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: accelerometer
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Olde Member!! Engineering Fields - Instrumentation Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 45

Re: choose the good accelerometer

01/15/2008 10:43 AM

Hi Mathias, I should ask Del what he would do with a mouse in a beaker of water...

To be honest it doesn't sound a very humane experiment you are conducting?

John.

In reply to #1

01/16/2008 3:04 AM

Well, I'm doing this to help bio-researcher to make a test that help them to see the effect of different medecine.

If you want a philosophical question this could could be said like: Is unpleasantness of some mice more important that human health? (the mouse stay alive! it just swim)!

I think there's not any absolut answer to that, it's up to you. Personnaly I don't think this is immoral.

mathias

Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Guru

Good Answers: 143

01/16/2008 9:11 AM

I've never instrumented a mouse in a water beaker, but have done quite a bit with humans (they're sort of like big mice, but you don't have to feed them).