Previous in Forum: Windshield Wiper Systems   Next in Forum: Water-Burning Hybrid - hype or hope?
Close
Close
Close
2 comments
Participant

Long-Term Elastic Powder Coating for Springs

06/13/2008 12:48 PM

Today quite all suspension springs are powder coated with electrostatic method, after a zinc phosphatation. After some years powder coating is sometimes loosing its elasticity and becomes brittle, thus unable to "follow" the steel deformation. Is there any study on this subject ? What kind of powder should give the best reliability regarding this problem ?

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: coating powder
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Power-User

Good Answers: 19

Re: Long-Term Elastic Powder Coating for Springs

06/14/2008 6:00 AM

I worked as a powder applicator for center pivot irrigation systems some thirty years ago. We used an Epoxy formulation from 3M. Coating failures were mostly the result of loss of adhesion to pipe that hadn't been sufficiently cleaned or dried.

Coated areas of your springs that show brittle failure with continued adhesion have probably experienced a loss of plasticizers. This is a coating defect. If the cracking results from a loss of adhesion, it is most likely a manufacturing defect.

I found one study that seems relevant, but only managed to read the abstract:

http://www.springerlink.com/content/x308773641340302/

There is also some very interesting general information on the internet.

http://www.powdercoatingonline.com/html/powder_suppliers.html

You might benefit more from the recommendation of a suspension mechanic who has seen lots of powder coated springs than from charts and tables. Representatives from coating manufacturers can also be helpful; they know the deficiencies as well as the strengths of their products, and some of them are genuinely eager to help.

Register to Reply
Anonymous Poster