Previous in Forum: LIQUID-GEL-LIQUID PROBLEM   Next in Forum: Your Ideal Entry Level Candidate for Medical Device Product Development
Close
Close
Close
8 comments
Participant

Cleaving mica methods

09/19/2008 12:05 PM
Does anyone hava any advice for freshly cleaving mica?

I know you can use a razor blade but there is an increase chance i will damage the freshly cleaved surface and because im looking at protein fibers 5nm wide i want the mica to be as flat and not damaged by my cleaving procedure.

1. I have heard you can use sticky tape to cleave mica but what tape would be best to use?

2. Do both sides of the mica have to be fixed to an object with the sticky tape to cleave best?

3. And when cleaving do you have to pull the objects that each side of the mica is attached to at an angle or do you pull it away as parallel as you can?

Im new to Atomic Force microscopy but understand that the quality of my prepared sample will affect my image data and quality visualising the fibers.

Thanks

Danny

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Power-User

Good Answers: 1

Re: Cleaving mica methods

09/19/2008 3:36 PM

The razor blade will do you just fine, or similar tool depending on the size of the sheet.

No way you are going to get a glass smooth surface on a cleave separation anyway.

My Grandpa used to cleave them for the furnace work he did. Mica is not a finished surface, but a collection of scales of mineral fused together in layers.

I Dun-Know, you can do the microscopic stuff with it after you have it in layers.

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru
Hobbies - RC Aircraft - New Member Hobbies - Automotive Performance - New Member Hobbies - DIY Welding - New Member