Previous in Forum: Pipe Expansion Loops and Anchors   Next in Forum: Mechanical Maintenance
Close
Close
Close
14 comments
Power-User

Torque to force conversion.

11/15/2006 11:23 PM

Hi! I need to move a shaft of 25 Kg over low friction ballbearings in a rectilinear fashion along its axis.

Considering a low co-eff of friction let us say that the force required is 35KgF or 350 N.

I have a motor delivering some amount of torque say Y Ncm.

Let the radius of the shaft be X

Now how do I compute the force that the torque would produce when applied on the head of the shaft.

Is there a formula that can be used here. I tried searching google but I never could understand how to interpret torque in terms of Force applied.

I understand that it is the basic engineering fundamentals but I am an electrical-electronics engineer and know a little mechanical but here I am stuck.

Please let me know.

If the question posted here is against the regulations of the forum please let me know that as well...

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Active Contributor

Re: Torque to force conversion.

11/16/2006 12:43 AM

Hi

Use this method

Torque = Force * Distance(Radius)

Nagaraja

Register to Reply
Power-User

In reply to #1

11/18/2006 12:03 AM

Thank you Nagaraja,

I do understand that part of the equation but the problem is which radius or in reference to what do I need to consider for the calculation...

Thank you again for your feedback.

with regards,

Vishal Vijay Singh

(+919940131329)

Australia - Member - New Member Fans of Old Computers - H316 - New Member Hobbies - Model Rocketry - New Member

Location: Port Noarlunga, South Australia, AUSTRALIA (South of Adelaide)
Good Answers: 75

11/17/2006 2:57 AM

To use your variable name then;

Force = Torque ÷ Radius

Force = y/x

For example if your motor had a shaft on it with a 2cm diameter then to lift your 35Kg/350N weight;