Previous in Forum: Efficiency of Air To Air Heat Pump.   Next in Forum: laws of motion
Close
Close
Close
23 comments
Guru
Hobbies - DIY Welding - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Engineering Fields - Civil Engineering - New Member United States - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 177

How to calculate head loss in coiled copper tubing...

11/08/2009 12:28 PM

Hello Everyone!

Perhaps there are some of you here in CR4 that may have a quick or down and dirty answer for my questions.

I've been pulling out my hair looking for this answer in all of my hydraulics and fluid dynamics textbooks plus Google and have not found what I seek. Since I'm a Civil Engineer, I most likely have a much more limited engineering library than the HVAC and Mechanical engineers brothers in the forum.

I'm looking for a formula (or any other pertinent information) to calculate the Head Loss or equivalent pipe length inside coiled copper tubing. I don't know the size of the tubing yet. Perhaps it will be 1/2", 5/8" or 3/4" Refrig. Copper tubing, or Type K copper tubing. I will be using this (or a parallel pair of coils if determined required later on) as a heat exchanger in my DIY Solar Thermal System. Most likely I'll be pumping a 50/50 solution of water-glycol mixture through the system to prevent freezing in the winter months. Finding the head loss inside of the copper tubing coil is basically the last piece of the puzzle that I need to nail down before I plug my system components and info into a hydraulics/piping distribution system sim. software package, and run simulations. Then the real fun begins tweeking the system!!! LOL

Since a continuous coiled tube is not like a series of 90-degree bends placed one after another, I think that way of determining Equivalent Pipe Lengths may be a bit of overkill. I like to engineer things conservatively, but that's going a tad too far in my estimation.......