Previous in Forum: Ransomware: Extortion via the Internet   Next in Forum: Wanted: Specs for SSTC34-T1 N-Channel JFET
Close
Close
Close
25 comments
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114

Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/12/2010 4:43 PM

I Got a free monitor, that supposedly only needed to have a mount made.

I ran through the menu & set it up to use as a monitor for my linux box

Looks fine for 30-45 seconds & goes black

here are the details:

Tru Tech

mod 008-09-0119

ser f1bia85016745v

I haven't found any decent info specific to this brand

Any general advice of what or where to look when I take it apart?

Should all else fail, I can always follow Del's lead & use it for target practice

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Earth - I think.
Posts: 2143
Good Answers: 165
#1

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/12/2010 5:06 PM

Sounds like a temperature related problem. Get some freeze-mist for troubleshooting purposes.

And be careful! Getting hit with 20K-30K volts from the flyback really really hurts!

__________________
TANSTAAFL (If you don't know what that means, Google it - yourself)
Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114
#2
In reply to #1

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/12/2010 6:00 PM

I should say it's a LCD

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Earth - I think.
Posts: 2143
Good Answers: 165
#3
In reply to #2

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/12/2010 6:18 PM

Guess I should have Googled it!

But the freeze-mist is still a good tool.

__________________
TANSTAAFL (If you don't know what that means, Google it - yourself)
Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Guru
Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - Analog and Digital Circuit Design Engineering Fields - Electromechanical Engineering - Transformers, Motors & Drives, EM Launchers Engineering Fields - Engineering Physics - Applied Electrical, Optical, and Mechanical

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 1208
Good Answers: 119
#5
In reply to #2

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/12/2010 11:16 PM

I believe the problem may be with the inverter that drives the CCFL back-light. I think the life expectancy of CCFL back-light tubes makes it unlikely the tubes are bad (but I could be wrong). IF you were lucky it could be just a loose connection. However, I suspect the inverter circuit may be overheating and shutting down.

I'd start here...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CCFL_inverter

I don't enjoy working with tiny and fragile micro-ribbon cable connections, but I'd spend a couple hours time trying to repair a freebie LCD like yours. Good Luck!

Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114
#9
In reply to #5

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/13/2010 4:26 AM

Thanks for the link & info

I'll post back after I've had a look...

Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114
#13
In reply to #9

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/15/2010 9:00 AM

I had it apart yesterday, 4 backlight tubes.

it won't light at all unless all 4 are plugged in

no bulging caps, cold solder joints

I touched most of the larger components, no preceptable heat

the power board is marked proview pp19r703084023398

went to the proview site, no help there

I played with the set up menus & it worked for maybe 1 hour.

I turned off the computer, when I restarted BSOD

I couldn't get it to stay on long enough to try to let it auto set up which was what seemed to make it work...

When I have a few minutes I'll finish the mount, shine a bright light on it & try again

Register to Reply
Anonymous Poster
#4

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/12/2010 11:03 PM

I have the same problem. Have you found any help yet?

Register to Reply
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - bwire Hobbies - Car Customizing - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Upper Mid-west USA
Posts: 7503
Good Answers: 96
#6

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/13/2010 12:01 AM

Model # should begin with "PLV" or "PVS"

Caution these units are sold by Target stores with no warranty and expected lifetime of four months. It's a "TV" and some relation to Panasonic.

__________________
If death came with a warning there would be a whole lot less of it.
Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114
#8
In reply to #6

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/13/2010 4:21 AM

It was being used as a monitor for security cameras at a convenience store. I have noted all the connections & speakers.

The parent company seems to be Kia.

Were I spending my money, I would buy a Samsung, whose reputation seems second to none...

Register to Reply
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - bwire Hobbies - Car Customizing - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Upper Mid-west USA
Posts: 7503
Good Answers: 96
#10
In reply to #8

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/13/2010 5:00 AM

A security monitor in a CCTV system eh?

__________________
If death came with a warning there would be a whole lot less of it.
Register to Reply
Anonymous Poster
#20
In reply to #6

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

02/17/2010 8:08 PM

Our company very briefly used these also for CCTV video monitors.

I just called Target helpline . They said it is part of the Daewoo Electronics Line,

not Panasonic or Kia. The Company is located in Passaic NJ area and the phone

number is 973-249-3448.

Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114
#21
In reply to #20

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

02/17/2010 8:37 PM

You are correct it is daewoo

daewoo, kia, it was one of those bad korean car companies

I can get it to work, but everytime the power is cycled off

I have to fumble through the menu's on a black screen with a bright light

I like having a bigger monitor, but it's not worth the trouble...

some kind of software weirdness

the computer I would like to run it off of doesn't have video out other than VGA

I don't have long distance phone service, so I can't call the number

when I do a search on the number, I get unlisted Passiac NJ

Register to Reply
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - bwire Hobbies - Car Customizing - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Upper Mid-west USA
Posts: 7503
Good Answers: 96
#22
In reply to #21

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

02/18/2010 2:27 AM

Akin to something regarded as "fly by night" in a by-gone era, they seem to be slicing through a gamut of markets too wonder how much dough can be made before the reputation suffers?

__________________
If death came with a warning there would be a whole lot less of it.
Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114
#23
In reply to #22

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

02/18/2010 3:14 AM

If I were buying a monitor it would be a samsung, which in years past was considered junk, but now is a premiere brand

Register to Reply
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - bwire Hobbies - Car Customizing - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Upper Mid-west USA
Posts: 7503
Good Answers: 96
#24
In reply to #23

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

02/18/2010 10:28 PM

Sony seems happy with Samsung too...

My recent monitor purchases for myself and customers have beem mostly Synaps and an LG.

__________________
If death came with a warning there would be a whole lot less of it.
Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ronan, Montana
Posts: 174
Good Answers: 10
#7

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/13/2010 12:07 AM

mjb1962853 is right about the inverter. It's almost certainly the inverter...that's assuming you have had another monitor hooked to your computer with no problems.

The inverter is usually a small PCB mounted somewhere around the screen under the bezel. A lot of them are about 1/2 inch X 4 or 5 inches long. Most of them will have the manufacturers name on them and usually not of the same brand as the monitor. Look for the part number on it and then look on ebay or do a web search for that particular part. There are several companies that sell new inverters which have web sites.

Sometimes you can see the bad component and replace it which quite often works but on the other hand it could be something else that caused that part to go bad.

__________________
"don't be so open minded that your brain falls out" unknown
Register to Reply
Associate

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 41
Good Answers: 3
#11

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/13/2010 7:09 AM

Free? Looks like you got your money's worth...lol

__________________
Finish your beer! There are sober kids in Africa!
Register to Reply Off Topic (Score 5)
Power-User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 209
Good Answers: 10
#12

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/13/2010 2:38 PM

I've seen a perfectly good inverter do the same thing because one of the CCFL tubes wasn't starting up properly. If you see flickering, uneven lighting, or a pink tint in the image while it runs, a bad tube is likely.

The first thing to do is to verify that this is is a backlight problem. Shine a light on the screen at an angle. If the backlight circuit is the problem, you should be able to see the image in the illuminated region. If you see nothing, no matter how you turn the light, you may have a main power supply or video processor failure.

Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ronan, Montana
Posts: 174
Good Answers: 10
#14

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/16/2010 2:05 AM

It appears that Proview lists that as an LCD TV with Underwriters Labs. That shouldn't make any diff as far as what's causing your problem.

Here's UL's listing which you've probably already seem. I also see you've been asking several different groups which is good. Maybe someone can come up with the part or a good answer for you. You might find Proviews contact info and ask them who stocks parts. Not many from what I can see.

PROVIEW ELECTRONICS CO LTD

E233207
6TH FL
1 PAU SHENG RD
YUNG-HO, TAIPEI TAIWAN


Trademark and/or Tradename: "E233207"

LCD TV monitors, Model(s) 008-09-0115, 008-09-01XX@, 1911-TLXB, 3700, 4241-TLXB and TLX-04240B, 900T, 900TK, DTC-37MK, ELCPO19xx(#), ELCPO371, ELCTQ191, ELDTW401, FL*-19****(f2), FLX-1910, FLX-3710, MLT19**, TL*-019****(f2), TLA-0191XX#, TLA-04011C, VSC-37V1

LCD TVs, Model(s) 008-09-0119, 1513-TDXB, 15XX-TLXB #, 2000, 2011-TLXB, 2000DA, 2020, 2200, FLX-2210(!), DTC-22MK, 2200DA, 22FL100LD, 2300, 2600, 2600V, 2611-TLXB, 2700, 300, 3000, 3200, 300T, 3030, 3200V, 3211-****(f2), 3211-TLXB, 3700A, FLX-3711B, FLX-3710, 400, 4000, 4011-****(f2), 4200, 4200V, 4600, TLA-04641X,4641-TLXB(!), 470, 700, 900TA, 1913-TDXB(@), BT3212B-XAH, DTC-32MK, ELCPO23xx# 2300, ELCPO3** (f4), ELCPO321, ELCPO37**(f2), ELCTQ261, ELCTQ321, ELDPO421, ELDPO42xx, ELDTQ421, FL*-15**** (f2), FL*-22****(f2), FL*-32***(f2), FL*-40***(f2), FLM-2634BM, FLM2632, FLM2632M, FLM2634B, FLM263B, FLX-15*** (f2), FLX-2610, FLX-2611X (X=0-9 or A-Z), FLX-2611X!, FLX-3210, FLX-3211X (X=0-9 or A-Z), FLX-3211X!, FLX2610, GF401AC-XAP, GF42Zxx-UAP, GT1617-TAH, GT3219-XAZ, GT401AB-XAZ, IF2611-TLXB, LCD222EPV, LT321W, LT32W, MLT*19***(f2), MLT*37***(f2), MLT*42***(f2), MLTD26**, MLTD3222, NS-LCD42, NS-LCD42HD, OT2219-UAH, TD*-032*** (f2), TD*-040***, TD*-040*** (f2), TDA-026xxx, TDA-0321XX#, TDA-032xxx (f3), TDx-01530B(f1), TDx-01930B(f1), TDx-020xxxx, TDX-02610B, TDx-026xxx, TDX-03210B, TL*-015**** (f2), TL*-022****(f2), TL*-032***(f2), TL*-040***(f2), TLA-015XXX#, TLA-019XXX#, TLA-0424xx, TLx-023xxxx# 2300, TLX-03210B, TLx-04244x, TLX-0424xx, TLX-0434xx

PDP TV, Model(s) 3200P, 4200P, 5000, DX-PDP42-**(f2), DX-PDP42-09, IV321AB-XA3, IV501BB-UAV, LV421AB-XA2, NS-PDP32-** (f2), NS-PDP32-09, NS-PDP50HD-** (f2)

Portable DVD players, Model(s) 70X*

__________________
"don't be so open minded that your brain falls out" unknown
Register to Reply
Power-User

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ronan, Montana
Posts: 174
Good Answers: 10
#15

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/16/2010 2:10 AM

Just found the following maybe need to look in a different place? This was copied from another forum:

Friend this is a very common problem with LCD and also DLP within the power supply the capacitors

Start to fail and the way you can tell is to check them visually for swelling or expanding of the top.

It will be easy to see the bad caps will not be as flat on the top as the good ones, this is the problem,

Exchange them and you will be ok, Well good luck friend. And if it doesn't work make sure the power supply is sending 24v to the inverters when you turn the set on your meter should climb but won't reach 24v because unit will shut down and if so we ruled out the inverters or backlight I seen this problem also caused by the signal board it has a power on command missing and it looks like the power supply is bad but actually it's the signal board, it may be labeled on the board a active high or low 5v which sends the command to the power supply. Well this should help you friend and good luck



Read more: http://www.justanswer.com/questions/2dqte-my-three-year-old-trutech-lcd-tv-is-not-turning-on-by-briefly#ixzz0ckz1gNMv

__________________
"don't be so open minded that your brain falls out" unknown
Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114
#16
In reply to #15

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/16/2010 3:51 PM

You noticed I keep a unified web presence.

I saw a thread claiming a set up [software] problem, but I haven't found a breakdown of the menus Since there is only a small window of time before the back light blips off... The guts of the main power supply have a heatsink/shield glued on top of it.

I'm having trouble maneuvering [not enough hands] with out a proper mount. I didn't check for 24vdc before I put it back in the case. I wonder if I can just jump 24 in, probably need more than 60hz.

More later

Register to Reply
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - bwire Hobbies - Car Customizing - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Upper Mid-west USA
Posts: 7503
Good Answers: 96
#17
In reply to #16

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/18/2010 5:12 PM

Are the four small holes on the back cover machine threaded?

__________________
If death came with a warning there would be a whole lot less of it.
Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114
#18
In reply to #17

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/18/2010 6:58 PM

3mm metric, I made a simple picture hanger type mount which is fine hanging on the wall. The whole thing pivots on the cord from the computer, so I can't fiddle with the buttons with one hand & hold the bright flash light with the other

I'm gonna drill a couple of holes in some one by one if I ever get out to the barn & get the material, to act as stand offs.

Register to Reply
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - bwire Hobbies - Car Customizing - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Upper Mid-west USA
Posts: 7503
Good Answers: 96
#19
In reply to #18

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

01/19/2010 12:22 AM

Duct tape the bright flashlight to the tri-pod of your camera or telescope

__________________
If death came with a warning there would be a whole lot less of it.
Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - Hazmat - New Member Safety - ESD - New Member Engineering Fields - Transportation Engineering - New Member Popular Science - Evolution - New Member Technical Fields - Procurement - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - New Member Engineering Fields - Architectural Engineering - New Member Technical Fields - Marketing/Advertising - New Member Engineering Fields - Food Process Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Mariposa Ca
Posts: 5804
Good Answers: 114
#25

Re: Tru Tech Monitor - Black Screen

03/10/2010 10:33 AM

I scraped the monitor

It will be on it's way to china soon

Register to Reply
Register to Reply 25 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Anonymous Poster (2); bwire (6); Garthh (9); Kilowatt0 (2); mjb1962853 (1); MNIce (1); Randyl (3); rockbit (1)

Previous in Forum: Ransomware: Extortion via the Internet   Next in Forum: Wanted: Specs for SSTC34-T1 N-Channel JFET

Advertisement