Previous in Forum: Circle Diagram of Induction Motor   Next in Forum: Living Near Power Line
Close
Close
Close
13 comments

Copper Corrosion

06/16/2010 11:44 AM

Hi everyone, I'm having a problem with the copper conductors on some for the waste water treatment plants I'm responsible for. All the copper in the plants turns black and becomes really brittle, some of the larger surface area busses get large scale flakes built up that look like a pieces of low carbon steel that had been heated up to near melting point and cooled. I thought some of the milder corrosion came from sulfur in the air, but in some of these plants the corrosion will eat through new copper wire in a couple weeks and turn it into a pile of black scale. I'm just an electrician in the far north of Canada and don't have a lot of other resources to call on, I hope someone can help me!

Thanks

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: copper wire corrosion
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Anonymous Poster

Re: Copper Corrosion

06/16/2010 2:33 PM

If you're having the same issue every couple of weeks I'd think it really worths to try this.

Yahalsit

Register to Reply Score 2 for Off Topic
Guru

Good Answers: 1663
In reply to #1

06/16/2010 5:39 PM

Do you get a commission from three rivers gold plating? Sounds like it.

Register to Reply Score 1 for Off Topic
Guru
United States - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Location: California, USA, where the Godless live next door to God.
Good Answers: 796

06/16/2010 4:54 PM

That sounds like evidence of H2SO4 contamination. The first step to a solution is to do more to prevent it from getting to your conductors, i.e. better air flow from the producing sources to direct it away from equipment. Tin plating helps as well, but avoid silver, that makes it worse.

Or as mentioned above, gold plate everything...

Good Answers: 131