Previous in Forum: PROGRAMMING REQUIRED   Next in Forum: Pro Toolkit
Close
Close
Close
14 comments
Anonymous Poster

AutoCAD Question

02/26/2007 1:14 PM

I'm a student wondering if anyone can give me a hand with a problem I'm trying to solve. Can an AutoCAD drawing be converted from one measurement system to the other (mm to feet) in one quick and easy step. In the help section I read that you can scale the drawing to the conversion factor required but all of my text and dimensions remain the same size and all have to be changed to fit the new drawing. I'm doing a floor plan and would like to have metric dimensions for the permit process and have an imperial copy for floor workers to use.

I'm thinking AutoCAD must have a quicker and less messy way of switching from SI to Imperial but I've been unable to find it. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Pathfinder Tags: Autocad drawing measurement software
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
Engineering Fields - Manufacturing Engineering - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member United States - Member - New Member Hobbies - Hunting - New Member

Good Answers: 17

Re: AutoCAD Question

02/26/2007 1:23 PM

Why not both? That way you have the same drawing in the format you want but will will have the mm required for who ever.

go to the Dimension pull down and to Demension style, then click the Modify button, another window will pop up and click the tap at the top for "Alternatre Units" turn this on and set it to what you need.

After that all you dimentions will display both inch and metric...

Good luck, I hope this helped

Philippines - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Instrumentation Engineering - New Member Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - Who am I?

Good Answers: 51

02/26/2007 7:59 PM