Previous in Forum: Compression Molding Material   Next in Forum: I Need Case Hardened Steel Samples...
Close
Close
Close
42 comments
Active Contributor

Silver Hardened Too Fast When Casting

05/09/2011 5:33 AM

Hello,

I started a jewelry workshop and I have no experience in this field. I tried to cast sterling silver using a kiln for melting silver and a vacuum casting table. At my first cast, I melted the sterling silver at 1000 Celsius (1832 F). I took the perforated flask from the oven (after burnout) at 450 Celsius (842 F) and placed it to the casting chamber on my vacuum machine. I started the vacuum and I poored the melted silver. The silver solidified when reached the flask, the molted methal entered on the sprue cavity only a few milimeters. Some of the silver even hardened on the crucible, before reaching the flask. Can anyone please tell me what could cause this? When melting the silver I added some Borax powder.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Hobbies - Fishing - Old Salt Hobbies - CNC - New Member United States - US - Statue of Liberty - New Member

Good Answers: 266

Re: Silver hardened too fast when casting

05/09/2011 7:38 AM

Did you heat the cast up some before pouring?

In reply to #1

05/09/2011 7:43 AM

I'm from Romania and I'm not sure I undersatnd what do you mean by "eat the cast up some"

The flask with the investment was at 450 Celsius and the melted silver at 1000 Celsius.

Register to Reply
Guru

Good Answers: 182

05/09/2011 8:17 AM