Previous in Forum: Time Constant and RPM of a DC Motor?   Next in Forum: Materials Question About Shear Blades
Close
Close
Close
26 comments
Guru
Hobbies - DIY Welding - pipewelder

Good Answers: 33

Stainless Steel Weld Corrosion Problem

04/12/2007 4:05 PM

I have been in the construction managment field for 28 years. I currently work as an engineer at a paper mill in north Georgia, USA. I am administrator of the ASME R-stamp repair program as well as in charge of all aspects of welding procedures and qualifications at the paper mill. I also overlook the paper mills' tank inspection as well as asbestos abatment programs. I am not new to CR4 but this is my first post as a bonified member. Please forgive me if I don't spell correctly. In the paper making process we create a side product called Tall Oil. The way we make the tall oil involves a chemical process where in we basically mix sulpheric acid with a by-product called soap and 150 lb. steam in a reaction tank. After this initial cook the product is left to settle out and we end up with 3 layers. top layer is tall oil, middle layer is lignin( in which we recycle back through the system) and the bottom layer is brine.

My problem is as follows: The brine is attacking the welds in the bottom of our tanks. The tanks are made from 304 stainless steel and are welded with a E-308, SMAW type electrode. The funny thing is that it only corrodes the welds and not the base metal. If you were to look at these areas it would seem that the joints were never welded or that someone may have even arc gouged the weld metal from the joints. I am sure that there is a simple reason why this is occuring and I have asked for help from a metalurgerist as to what is causing it. Just wondering if anyone else has seen this type of corrosion before or if anyone knows of an electrode that could be used that would prevent or even slow down this corrosion?

Thanks, pipewelder

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to