Previous in Forum: Rotameter Float Position Sensing by Non-contact Way   Next in Forum: PLC Processor's Working Memory
Close
Close
Close
17 comments
Guru
Safety - ESD - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - Amateur Astronomer Technical Fields - Technical Writing - Writer India - Member - Regular CR4 participant Engineering Fields - Optical Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 18 29 N 73 57E
Posts: 1388
Good Answers: 31

Time Sync

10/08/2015 2:00 PM

There is method of synchronization of Laptop time with the International NIST time. But it is upto 1 second resolution only.

Is there any method to sync it to milliseconds ?

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: computer time
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South of Minot North Dakota
Posts: 8378
Good Answers: 774
#1

Re: Time Sync

10/08/2015 3:03 PM

Why?

Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru

Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 42296
Good Answers: 1662
#2

Re: Time Sync

10/08/2015 3:14 PM
Register to Reply
Guru
Canada - Member - If there is a way to screw someting up, there is someone to do so! Safety - Hazmat - New Member

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Iqaluit, NU. Canada
Posts: 1852
Good Answers: 140
#3

Re: Time Sync

10/08/2015 4:20 PM

While I do not know where your interest comes from, one would think that the synching to your LOCAL time reference would be more important then having your local time be fully synched (to milliseconds) to a remote loaction.

__________________
Joe Contractor to Electrical Inspector, "What do you mean you are going to make me follow the code?".
Register to Reply
3
Guru
Technical Fields - Project Managers & Project Engineers - New Member

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Midwestern United States
Posts: 844
Good Answers: 75
#4

Re: Time Sync

10/08/2015 5:06 PM

No, and you wouldn't want to. Any process that requires that type of resolution shouldn't be auto-sync'ed anyway. And are you going to account for internal buss speeds and software reaction times?

However... if you let us know what you're trying to do, or accomplish - maybe we can provide a recommendation for a feasible/viable solution.

__________________
Reuters - Investigators found that the recent thread derailment in CR4 was caused by over-weight creatures of lore and request that membership DON'T FEED THE TROLLS.
Register to Reply Good Answer (Score 3)
Guru
Hobbies - Musician - Engineering Fields - Chemical Engineering - New Member Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member Engineering Fields - Instrumentation Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Moses Lake, WA, USA, Thulcandra - The Silent Planet (C.S. Lewis)
Posts: 4216
Good Answers: 194
#5
In reply to #4

Re: Time Sync

10/08/2015 7:49 PM

Excellent answer!

__________________
"Reason is not automatic. Those who deny it cannot be conquered by it. Do not count on them. Leave them alone." - Ayn Rand
Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - ESD - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - Amateur Astronomer Technical Fields - Technical Writing - Writer India - Member - Regular CR4 participant Engineering Fields - Optical Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 18 29 N 73 57E
Posts: 1388
Good Answers: 31
#9
In reply to #4

Re: Time Sync

10/09/2015 1:38 AM

Please see my comment no. 8 for ... why I need it

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: About 4000 miles from the center of the earth (+/-100 mi)
Posts: 9139
Good Answers: 1038
#6

Re: Time Sync

10/08/2015 8:51 PM

Maybe a WWVB receiver with a serial interface:

http://www.leapsecond.com/museum/ulio/m325ds.pdf

Register to Reply
Guru
Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Join Date: May 2007
Location: NYC metropolitan area.
Posts: 3231
Good Answers: 444
#7

Re: Time Sync

10/09/2015 12:46 AM

How about 200ps? "...The NIST servers listen for a NTP request on port 123, and respond by sending a udp/ip data packet in the NTP format. The data packet includes a 64-bit timestamp containing the time in UTC seconds since January 1, 1900 with a resolution of 200 ps..."

Not quite sure what good that resolution will do you unless you have a laptop running a real-time OS and you account for all the possible transmission and data handling delays, but for more information and some software go to this site:

http://www.nist.gov/pml/div688/grp40/its.cfm

The alternative is to use a GPS to access the satellite data stream for their clock data.

__________________
“Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.” Ben Franklin.
Register to Reply Score 1 for Good Answer
Guru
Safety - ESD - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - Amateur Astronomer Technical Fields - Technical Writing - Writer India - Member - Regular CR4 participant Engineering Fields - Optical Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 18 29 N 73 57E
Posts: 1388
Good Answers: 31
#8

Re: Time Sync

10/09/2015 1:36 AM

I am looking for this accuracy, as I want to observe and record the astronomy events in the sky like occultations. The timing to milliseconds accuracy is very important to us.

In fact, I would like one step ahead, and want to time stamp the video I want to shoot. Every frame of the video should get time stamp to milliseconds accuracy.

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Commissariat de Police, Nouvions, occupied France, 1942.
Posts: 2599
Good Answers: 76
#15
In reply to #8

Re: Time Sync

10/12/2015 8:18 AM

What nonsense. The earth's day varies by +/-11 milliseconds depending on which way the wind is blowing across the Andes!

__________________
Good moaning!
Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Old New Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South east U.K.
Posts: 3537
Good Answers: 92
#10

Re: Time Sync

10/09/2015 4:12 AM

Atomic Clock Sync adjusts your PC time to match the NIST atomic clock, don't know the accuracy. I use another sync programme which, as far as it's display is concerned, adjusts to millisecond accuracy. The PC seems to deviate from this adjusted time quite quickly. Can't remember the name but I will check this evening.

__________________
I didn't have a really important life, but at least it's been funny (Lemmy Kilminster 1945-2015)
Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Old New Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South east U.K.
Posts: 3537
Good Answers: 92
#14
In reply to #10

Re: Time Sync

10/09/2015 5:36 PM

The programme I couldn't remember is Chronograph.

__________________
I didn't have a really important life, but at least it's been funny (Lemmy Kilminster 1945-2015)
Register to Reply
Guru
Safety - ESD - New Member Popular Science - Cosmology - Amateur Astronomer Technical Fields - Technical Writing - Writer India - Member - Regular CR4 participant Engineering Fields - Optical Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: 18 29 N 73 57E
Posts: 1388
Good Answers: 31
#16
In reply to #14

Re: Time Sync

10/12/2015 1:57 PM

This also has only precision of 1 second.... not to milliseconds

Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Old New Member

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South east U.K.
Posts: 3537
Good Answers: 92
#17
In reply to #16

Re: Time Sync

10/13/2015 4:15 AM

When adjustment is made the time difference is displayed in milliseconds but that does not prove that the adjustment is that accurate.

__________________
I didn't have a really important life, but at least it's been funny (Lemmy Kilminster 1945-2015)
Register to Reply
Associate

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 33
Good Answers: 1
#11

Re: Time Sync

10/09/2015 8:32 AM

I found that GPS time is accurate to the second to better than 100ns but you do have to correct for accumulated leap seconds since the system was started. I think the accumulated leap seconds is currently 19. All this can be verified with a little general searching [I spent about 8 seconds]

Register to Reply
Power-User
United States - Member - New Member Hobbies - HAM Radio - AC9JZ extra

Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 156
Good Answers: 9
#12

Re: Time Sync

10/09/2015 12:32 PM

Try WWV. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WWV_(radio_station)

__________________
The only dumb question is the one you didn't ask.
Register to Reply
Associate

Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 33
Good Answers: 1
#13

Re: Time Sync

10/09/2015 2:02 PM

I believe that that 1 second is accurate to less than 100ns. It is a 1 second beat with less than 100ns error.

Register to Reply
Register to Reply 17 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Crabtree (1); gsuhas (3); JavaHead (1); jhotmer (2); lyn (1); Mike Proctor (1); Mikerho (1); Nigh (3); North of 60 (1); RAMConsult (1); Rixter (1); tcmtech (1)

Previous in Forum: Rotameter Float Position Sensing by Non-contact Way   Next in Forum: PLC Processor's Working Memory

Advertisement