Previous in Forum: Digital Multimeter Portable   Next in Forum: Bus Tie Duct Noise
Close
Close
Close
15 comments

Wiring a Relay Timer to Control a Gas Solenoid

08/21/2016 6:52 PM

Hello,

I'm trying and stumbling for some reason I don't understand at the simple task of getting an analog 8 pin relay timer to charge a NC solenoid at regular intervals.

The time itself is pretty interesting. Seems to be very simple in design, analog, and passive. Accepts a wide range of AC and DC voltages. Here it is:

I'm wiring it to a solenoid controlling light pressure from a nitrogen line. Here is the valve:

Yes, I am new with electronics, but have been around them in a professional capacity for a while. I initially was completely confused as to why the solenoid would successfully operate the timer, but not energize the coil even directly connected to my variable DC PSU. I slapped my palm across the head and realized my PSU only supplies 500 mA, and the solenoid required more current. I scrounged in the bin and was thrilled to find a 12V 2A wall wart. I clipped the connector and wired it directly to solenoid leads. Bingo. Solenoid pinged and was opening and closing the gas line as I plugged and unplugged the PSU.

Next I tried wiring the relay timer between the PSU and solenoid to accomplish the project: control the interval at which the solenoid opens and closes. I tried to follow the simple schematic, But failed, in two different ways:

I know this is basic stuff, but assistance much appreciated! I'm sure it's an easy fix. Like maybe the timer is stealing current, maybe I need to ground something, etc.

Best

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: relay timer solenoid
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers: