CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: A Fourth Spatial Dimension...Is This Where the Ghosts Live?   Next in Forum: Art From The Big Planet
Close
Close
Close
20 comments
Guru
Hobbies - HAM Radio - New Member Hobbies - Model Rocketry - New Member

Good Answers: 38

IOS11 Deviates From Standard SMS Protocol

01/08/2018 3:47 PM

Let me start this by saying I still have a flip phone, this is my choice. I have never had a smartphone and I don’t really want one. The reasons for not wanting one are my own but that is not what this is about. The flip phone I have is old and has been the same phone I have been using for at least 5 years now but it works fine for my purposes except for a recent issue.

I started noticing that I was having a problem receiving text messages from some of my family. I can’t say I like texting and would rather just call someone (again for my own reasons) but at times getting or sending a short text is convent. I started noticing that I would get either blank texts or partial text messages that were obviously cut off or texts that were broken up into multiple texts.

After a bit of searching I discovered that the problem lay with I phones and more specifically the update to IOS 11. The problem as it turns out is that Apple by default enabled smart punctuation, this deviates from standard sms protocol. Having smart punctuation on by default means that any time punctuation is used the text will act weird or simply not go through.

The solution if you can call it that is to have anyone who sends a texts to a flip phone turn off smart punctuation which is an option in the keyboard settings on the I phone. It is difficult to have everyone make this change and unfortunate that it is causing an issue.

I wonder how many others out there are having this same problem?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.