CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Cell Phone Time Is Always Wrong. Any Ideas?   Next in Forum: Can Ultraviolet Light Fight the Spread of Influenza?
Close
Close
Close
17 comments
Participant

Good Answers: 1

Welding/Installing Stainless Steel Sheets for High Heat Food Drying Application

02/10/2018 12:33 AM

I have a fun topic, please advise. I am not an engineer or an expert welder, so please keep this in mind as you give your answers. I am managing a coconut production project in Pacific island villages. Local "experts" cannot solve my problem, so I turn to you.

To make coconut oil with our process, we need to dry grated coconut to a low moisture content within a half hour. To do this, we have built a long brick oven and flue, and have laid to 4x8 2mm stainless steel sheets down as the surface.

We must use stainless steel to satisfy food grade requirements. And the stainless steel must get very hot (up to 200 degrees Celsius) in order to dry the coconut quickly (the grated coconut is tossed about with stainless steel scrapers to prevent toasting). The stainless steel sheets are heated by fire inside the brick oven underneath. The sheets lay flat on top of a layer of bricks held up by a steel frame.

Our problem with the stainless steel is:

Welding the sheets together without distortion/warping is a challenge in itself, we can do a reasonable job by welding quickly. But when the sheets reach high heat during production, we get mild to extreme warping which makes the producers' job very difficult.

THE PROBLEM TO SOLVE: We need a way to keep the sheets as flat as possible, with minimal to no warping/distortion, when heated to a temperature of near 200 degrees Celsius during production.

Any ideas?

Many thanks.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers: