Previous in Forum: PH of Feed Water in Steam Drum   Next in Forum: Finding the Flat Length of a Bent Steel Metal
Close
Close
Close
7 comments
Anonymous Poster #1

Motor and Gears = Coupled (Torque)

03/26/2018 7:41 AM

I have an Ac induction motor , 3 phase on whose shaft a 68 tooth helical gear is attached . Then there is formation of gear train , 34 tooth helical gear attached to the 68 tooth gear , and then 16 tooth gear attached with the 34 tooth gear , respectively. I am rotating the 10 hp ac induction motor @ 30 rev/sec. The Omega here is 188.45 rad / sec. .5kw is taken as heat loss and the torque of the first gear is calculated to be 37.14 Nm. I wanted to calculate the torque that will be present on the 16 tooth gear , considering the loss of power trabsmission is 15%. When I and my friend did that , we were getting sepratee answer. Also we came to know that the motor we are using is not apt for such a task . The load is taken to be 2 kg.

I am not a mechanical engineer , I search on website about it but could not find much . So :-

1) what should be the required torque at the last gear and what is the actual torque considering above scenarios.

2) if I want that the rev/ sec of the 16 tooth gear to be 120 rev/ sec then what shall be the require power of the ac induction motor , that will satisfy the need . Or indirectly what shall be the require torque for it .

3) what is the ac induction spec I should use for such a gear train .

4) I am using such a phenomena cause I am using Tesla model S transmission system and I need a gear train so that 120 rev/sec is the rotation of the last gear .

5) not a mechanical engineer so if this sounds common or too easy , pardon me .