Previous in Forum: Pollution Recovery   Next in Forum: HET Electric Motor Massively Boosts Power, Torque and Efficiency, Reduces Weight and Complexity
Close
Close
Close
27 comments

Antifreeze Protection for a Pumphouse

08/09/2019 9:24 PM

Greetings all. I have been an email subscriber to cr4 since the early 2000's when commonly heard phrases here were "google is your friend" and "this sounds like a homework question". I work in the wire harness industry in cost estimation and product support. Now I find myself needing some advice.

I am looking for heating ideas for my pumphouse/well system which supplies two homes. I live near Seattle Washington. Sometimes we get snow, the longest is for about a week at a time. Sometimes it is cold and clear, day and night below freezing for more than a month. Most of the time temperatures range around 35-55F during winter. I have had this freeze once but I caught it in time.

The space is approximately 6'x6'x8' containing a 1/2 hp submersible pump and a 5' tall pressure tank. The room will have insulation/sheetrock. The exterior is 7/16th OSP covered by cedar shake siding with water/ice barrier tar paper between.

My current plan is to mount a king electric u24100 208v 1000W radiant heater inside. I might go with a smaller wattage model, i haven't calculated what i need yet. This has a thermostat that goes down to 40F. The breaker for this would be off most of the year and turned on when it gets cold.

I am open to any and all ideas. Thanks in advance.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 225