Previous in Forum: Bonding Latex Rubber   Next in Forum: Joystick to USB Connection
Close
Close
Close
18 comments
Commentator

Good Answers: 2

Why is Laser Light Different?

02/20/2009 4:55 AM

Hi All

In idle moments I often ponder how light apparently disappears, I'm an air con engineer and none to bright at that, it is way out of my field, so if my question is a dumb one apologies up front.

In a previous question I asked what happened to light in space , did it just carry on travelling etc. The answer as I recall was yes, which is accepted except for the fact that the sky is very dark if all the light ever created is still whizzing around out there where is it or why can I not see it.

I then got to thinking about LASER light and discovered that I know precious little about the qualities of LASER light, can someone enlighten me a little please.

this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 103

Re: LASER, what is and why is LASER light different

02/20/2009 7:27 AM

LASER = Light Amplification by Stimulated Emission of Radiation.

I don't know how much detail you want.

Briefly speaking -normal light as we see is electromagnetic wave (just a tiny portion of it). In fact if you see the spectrum of any radiation this will be a combination of infinite number of different wave lengths. It is like a busy railway station where all type of persons of will be moving around.

Now let us say we cut off all of them except a single wave length (very difficult by normal filters) but let us say we do. Like we put some sort of gate - such that in a platform men of a particular height (no more no less) can only move in.