Previous in Forum: SIL certificate or prior-use   Next in Forum: Process Control Engineer
Close
Close
Close
8 comments
Associate

Impact of Accelerometer Weight on Test

05/11/2010 6:47 AM

Hello everyone, I'm once more perched at your doorstep with a question.

My question is pretty much summed up in the title, but as always, I know you need more information to be able to provide more accurate answers :)

I am going to conduct vibration tests on a PCB board. The board is safely mounted into an aluminum tray. It is roughly the size of 330 x 330 mm with four "lobes" (The PCB is bolted onto the tray from horizontal and vertical lines in the middle of both X and Y axes). Thus I have four 160 x 160 mm PCB lobes on the board.

This PCB has various components with varying weights on it (I'm not an electronics engineer, all I know is some are DC/DC converters and some are controllers :) ). One weighs 52g, another weighs 15g. I want to place accelerometers on these components to measure the G load they face while the PCB is vibrated.

My question is; would the weight of the accelerometer affect the measurement for these components? I'm not sure of the weight of the accelerometer, but it's one of the cube-types that is 1cm on a side; pretty lightweight as far as I know. And if I should suspect, how can I measure it? And if it does affect, how can I compensate for it?

I hope the question is clear enough. If you need any more information just tell and I'll give it the best way I can.

Thanks in advance!

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: accelerometer vibration testing
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Popular Science - Weaponology - New Member United Kingdom - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 662