Previous in Forum: Embedded USB Software   Next in Forum: Autocad Lt 2000 Autorization Issues
Close
Close
Close
10 comments
Active Contributor

Help with Autocad

03/20/2007 10:46 PM

To all experienced Autocad users out there. I have many years 2D and 3D experience with another CAD package - but only about 40 hours (mainly self taught) using Autocad LT for 2D work. When I am in paper space and have a highly zoomed model in the viewport (i.e. lines on the model are cut by the viewport) how can I force a dimension insertion to 'pick-up' on the line WHERE it is cut by the viewport boundary??

I have Osnap 'on' and sometimes the crosshair will snap to the intersection of the line and viewport - but mostly it ignores these and gives me rediculous readings. This is very frustrating - help please!

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: Autocad cad drawing
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Commentator
United Kingdom - Member -

Good Answers: 2

Re: Help with Autocad

03/21/2007 4:30 AM

Hi,

I have been trying this out with AutoCAD Mechanical 2007 and I can't get it to do what you are asking for. I would guess from this, based on previous experience of LT, that if Acad Mech won't do it, then LT won't either.

If I may offer a work-around: This is a precise zoom that you are using, so you could draw box on a unique layer that duplicates the zoomed view, dimension to the box, then switch off the box layer in the layout.

What version of LT are you using? The latest versions of Acad have vastly improved paper space dimensioning capability.

I hope that this is of some help.

Drew

Register to Reply
Power-User

Good Answers: 21

03/22/2007 5:13 AM