Previous in Forum: Gear Box   Next in Forum: what do you think of these so-called "Next Generation Tools"?
Close
Close
Close
43 comments
Anonymous Poster

Beam deflection

12/14/2010 12:32 AM

Here is a question for the gear heads out there from a gEEk:

I recently had a brainstorm for a great new consumer product. One of the components is a round tube roughly 24" long x 1" dia made of steel. As an engineer I dutifully sought out and applied the beam bending equation. I was able to find online calculators that gave me quick answers. Then I dutifully did a test. The calculators were wrong. Way wrong!!! I did them manually. The calculations were wrong, but matched the online calculators. I consulted a gear head. He said I'm using the equations correctly.

SOOO, here's the question. Why are the equations wrong? Test it yourself. Not even close.

"Work the problem from the beginning until you get stuck. Then work backwards from the answer. In the middle, lick and rub."

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 781

Re: Beam deflection

12/14/2010 12:43 AM

This description is inadequate. Please try again, explaining all loads and end connections on this pipe cum beam. In particular uniform vs concentrated load.

Good Answers: 1662

12/14/2010 12:45 AM

I worked it three different ways and it came out right every time. I don't know why you can't see it.

Oh, now I get it. Easy mistake to make, I've done it before myself.

You forgot to put the hole in the tube.

Guru