Previous in Forum: How to Rotate Drums of Grab Ship Unloader   Next in Forum: What is the Required Root Clearance for Gear Mashing?
Close
Close
Close
10 comments
Associate

Replace Press Fit Component

10/10/2011 10:49 AM

I have been asked to replace a small pressure relief valve with a seal/plug. The valve is composed of a brass case and some internal components, essentially a hollow cylinder with a spring loaded seal inside. The valve is press fit into a cast iron piece.

I have gone through the calculations and found dimensions for a plug that yield a similar assembly press force but I am wondering if this is best way to find a component with equivalent assembly properties. My concern is that the valve is hollow whereas the plug will be solid which changes internal stresses, among other things.

Would it be better to compare the ratio of assembly force to diameter, internal stresses, or something else?

Perhaps I'm overthinking this but, as I have limited experience with interference fits, I wanted to request input. I searched for similar situations on CR4 but didn't find anything.

this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
United States - Member - USA! Hobbies - Musician - Sound Man Engineering Fields - Mechanical Engineering - More than a Hobby Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member

Good Answers: 99

Re: Replace Press Fit Component

10/10/2011 3:59 PM

Please tell me you arn't simply removing a pressure relief valve from the system. You are replacing this valve with something else that perform the relieving function... right? Just in another location? The relief valve is there to prevent catastrophic failure of the system, and is likely a needed component.

You could get a good welder to weld a NPT bung onto that cast iron... but he needs to be a darn good welder.

Now for the important question:

What kind of pressures are you dealing with?

In reply to #1

10/10/2011 10:05 PM

Thanks for your reply.