Previous in Forum: Design of Silo for Storing Rice   Next in Forum: Contra Rotating Axial Fans
Close
Close
Close
10 comments
Associate

Good Answers: 3

Gas Compression & Combustion Efficiency

02/23/2012 9:00 AM

Esteemed CR4'ers,

I like to understand physical phenomena in an intuitive way, to truly get the underlying explanation of why things happen the way they do. Here's one I haven't quite figured out yet:

Why does a higher compression ratio in an engine produce better efficiency? In other terms, if I burn a given amount of fuel in a given amount of air at low pressure, why am I able to extract less energy than if I burn the same amount of fuel in the same amount of air at high pressure? The answer, "it is more efficient at higher pressure" is not a suitable answer for me!

I studied thermo, and dare say that I even understood most of it. I get that the equations of the power cycle dictate that higher pressure combustion yields higher efficiency, and that steam tables indicate this as well. I just don't get why.

It seems counter-intuitive to me that the work I do on a gas to compress it pre-combustion somehow gets magnified many times over once that combustion happens. If anyone could explain the underlying cause of this phenomenon it would be a huge help.

-Tritium

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Hobbies - Musician - Engineering Fields - Chemical Engineering - New Member Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member Engineering Fields - Instrumentation Engineering - New Member

Location: Moses Lake, WA, USA, Thulcandra - The Silent Planet (C.S. Lewis)
Good Answers: 194

Re: Gas Compression & Combustion Efficiency

02/23/2012 10:07 AM