Previous in Forum: John Deer Tractor Steering Failure   Next in Forum: GM Pass Key Problems
Close
Close
Close
32 comments
Active Contributor

Please Help Me Build An Electric Boat Drive!

05/21/2012 2:11 PM

Hi all,

I am in the planning stages of building and designing an aluminum boat. I am planning on using an electric drive of some sort. According to my math it should weigh about 800 lbs with no load or propulsion system. This is an offshore boat w/ a small cabin. My goal for the propulsion system is speed. I am a novice but here is what I plan on using: 7.5HP 3phase AC motor, 7.5HP VFD (Speed control,forward, reverse), a 6.3 KW peak diesel generator to power it all(7.5HP*746W=5595) plus boat electronics, drive shaft and 14" prop, and rudder of sorts.($1800 for all-new and used) I was not thinking of using any gears and going straight from motor to drive shaft. I know about hull speed *theory* and this boat will not plane as it is deep draft for stability BUT think cat/trimaran slicing thru water. (Low wetted surface area and great prismatic coef)

Is this feasible? Or are there other ways of doing this easier, DC maybe (golf cart motor)? Generator-pass thru battery charger-DC motor.

Thanks so much for any help or new designs you all can help me with!

Lectric

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 1727

Re: Please Help Me Build An Electric Boat Drive!

05/21/2012 2:47 PM

You might pick up some info here...

http://www.propulsionmarine.com/electric

Something like this?

http://www.andamanboatyard.com/picnic-21/

In reply to #1

05/21/2012 3:09 PM