Previous in Forum: Compressor Turbine   Next in Forum: What's the Difference Between Trapezoidal Tooth and Circular Tooth Timing Belt?
Close
Close
Close
5 comments
Power-User
Engineering Fields - Agricultural Engineering - Agricultural Mechanization Technical Fields - Technical Writing - Translator Technical Fields - Education - Fluid Power Uruguay - Member - Born and raised.

Good Answers: 3

Question About Drying Theory

12/03/2012 1:07 PM

I am studying drying theory by myself, using this book:

http://www.nzifst.org.nz/unitoperations/drying1.htm

and I have a question. In the problem that I copy below, I am not sure if the total heat supplied to the product is independent of the way it is supplied. I mean, is it the same to:

a) Evaporate all water at 24 ºC and then heating the steam in air to 71 ºC?

b) Heating all water up to 71 ºC and then evaporating?

c) Or some intermediate path?

I mean, is the total heat supplied dependent only on the starting and final states or does the path matter?

EXAMPLE 7.4. Efficiency of a potato dryer
A dryer reduces the moisture content of 100 kg of a potato product from 80% to 10% moisture. 250 kg of steam at 70 kPa gauge is used to heat 49,800 m3 of air to 80°C, and the air is cooled to 71°C in passing through the dryer. Calculate the efficiency of the dryer. The specific heat of potato is 3.43 kJ kg-1 °C-1. Assume potato enters at 24°C, which is also the ambient air temperature, and leaves at the same temperature as the exit air.

In 100 kg of raw material there is 80% moisture, that is 80 kg water and 20 kg dry material,
total weight of dry product = 20 x (10/9)
= 22.2 kg
weight of water = (22.2 - 20)
= 2.2 kg.
water removed = (80 - 2.2)
= 77.8 kg.

Heat supplied to potato product
= sensible heat to raise potato product temperature from 24°C to 71°C + latent heat of vaporization.

Now, the latent heat of vaporization corresponding to a saturation temperature of 71°C is 2331 kJ kg-1
Heat (minimum) supplied/100 kg potato