Previous in Forum: '97 Ford Taurus   Next in Forum: Spanish Train Derails - More Than 70 Dead
Close
Close
Close
39 comments
Commentator

Good Answers: 1

Best Continuously Variable Transmission?

07/23/2013 2:42 PM

I recently filed a patent application on a CVT that I have been working on for many years. I think it has a lot of potential since it is driven by solidly interlocked components, and unlike other designs that employ one-way clutches, the output is completely smooth and the driving arms move in one direction instead of oscillating.

Find the video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bdlOuZeYHLw

Be sure to listen to the audio; it will help immensely.

Looking for comments,

Jeff Lucas - inventor

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 774

Re: Best Continuously Variable Transmission?

07/23/2013 3:51 PM

Well here is what your competition has to offer.

Near infinity:1 reduction ratio plus overdrive capacity in both directions in one unit.

>97% average mechanical efficiency.

Service life in excess of 20K running hours with minimal maintenance.

Scalable from fractional HP to multi 1000's of HP.

Multi wheel equal torque/power/speed capacity.

High power density per unit of volume and mass.

Input and output overload proof.

Already and industry standard and proven design in rugged and severe service industrial applications.

Register to Reply
Commentator

In reply to #1

07/23/2013 4:08 PM

What design are you talking about? Friction based? Do you have a link?

Register to Reply
Guru

In reply to #2

07/23/2013 8:37 PM