Previous in Forum: Allowable Bearing Pressure in Bolted Joints   Next in Forum: Retention Pond Pumps
Close
Close
Close
14 comments
Guru
Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member China - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 14

How do you decorate a hall?

07/25/2007 4:16 AM

acoustic process is a complex problem for a hall or large conference decorating.

What absorb material are you using on your decorating a hall or a large conference?

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: acoustic conference hall
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Active Contributor

Good Answers: 1

Re: How do you decorate a hall?

07/26/2007 1:57 AM

I'm an audio engineer by trade, not an official "engineer" per se, by I can tell that sound in general is very complex. Sound involves physics principles, but also involves psychoacoustic anomalies concerning how we as humans perceive sound. What I would suggest is that you contact an accredited Acoustician. They use technical equipment and experience to identify trouble spots, aka, room modes, taking into account room size, texture and construction material, etc...and design a sound controlling scheme that works. Its a science, that IMO, should be left to professionals. Russ Berger Design Group comes to mind. That said, rigid fiberglass boards, e.g. Owens and Corning 703/705 at thicknesses of at least 2" can absorb a great amount of mid to high frequency sound wave energy (converting it to heat). I use 703 and Rockwool in my music studio, as do many others... The implementation of materials, i.e. placement and amount would need to be determined by someone who knows whats what. FWIW, Andrew AfaraWayland

Register to Reply
Guru
Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member China - Member - New Member

In reply to #1

07/26/2007 6:10 AM