Previous in Forum: Solar - Point of Common Coupling   Next in Forum: 3-Phase Power Design. WHY?
Close
Close
Close
11 comments
Participant

PLC Selection

01/24/2018 7:58 AM

Hey I'm building a mini project and need some help please. I want to control a linear actuator which can be 12V DC or 24V DC through an RFID system which I have access to. I need to select a suitable PLC to pull it all together and am unsure what exact specifications the PLC will have to meet such as of I/O's, Memory, Communications etc. This is my first time working with PLC's so any help would be appreciated. I intend on writing the code using Omron

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain. Kettle's on.
Good Answers: 819

Re: PLC Selection

01/24/2018 8:20 AM

<...writing the code using Omron...> Well, that pre-selects that particular manufacturer's equipment.

The first step is to write, in whatever native language is applicable, a Control Philosophy document, which will describe exactly what is intended to be carried out, and which will refer to other documents that are part of the overall design. Be certain to define abbreviations before using them: <...RFID...>, for example, has 6 meanings.

Asking for help on PLC selection before the above activity takes place would seem a little premature.

Power-User

Good Answers: 13

01/24/2018 11:26 AM