CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: MCB Short Circuit Test   Next in Forum: Electric Motor Query For Small Scale Stirrer
Close
Close
Close
44 comments
Anonymous Poster #1

Voltage Controller in AC Induction Motor

02/08/2018 12:16 AM

I am a College going student and i was having this discussion with a Post graduate student. We were talking about a project on which we are working which involves Ac induction motor 3 phase and variable inputs given to it. For example we have taken a 7.5 Kw Ac induction motor 3 phase and its input value is 240 Vac @ 25 A. the input supply that we are providing is 240V @ 25 A and the motor runs at 1440 rpm giving a torque of 233.33 Nm ( considering 500 W heat loss, just a assumption). Now if we change the source of input and the voltage is 450 V ac and current is 20 A then the rpm and torque of the motor would change. I asked him how can we bring this 450V ac @ 20 A back to the 240V ac @ 25 A. He was having difficulty answering this . SO thats why i am posting this here.

What are the various ways to control the voltage and current to bring it to out desired level? How can i change the 450V @ 20 A to 240V @ 25 A to drive my Ac induction motor at fixed and specified rpm and torque?

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Anonymous Poster #1

Re: Voltage controller In Ac induction motor.

02/08/2018 12:56 AM

I told him to use transformer but he replied its not possible with it . Why?

( sorry forgot to edit the original post)

Guru

Good Answers: 613
In reply to #1

02/08/2018 2:23 PM