CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Looking for Free Wall Charts   Next in Forum: Difference Between DIN 434 & DIN/EN 6918
Close
Close
Close
9 comments
Participant

To Pressurize 6063 Aluminum Tubing Or Not

03/13/2018 2:49 AM

Im working on a pneumatic dry bulk tank trailer. I am a welder by trade and we have a few trucks an trailers pulling dry bulks. We're having some trouble with a trailer of a different manufacture from the others over heating the trucks blower. The piping on this trailer has a different configuration in the used 3 90 degree elbows to get the pipe to the 1 st hopper. That being said I think by the use of those tight radius bends so close to each other is causing a restriction in airflow. I can eliminate the existing and use just two bends with one of them being bent on a 12" radius. My question is I have a piece of 6063 aluminum tubing 3.5 OD x 11 GA. Would this be suitable running a pressure of about 20 psi? This piece of tubing will have about an 8" tangent on both sides of the bend. Thanks for any help

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain, and now disconnecting ["brexit" - ugh] as Little England and Wales (not too sure about Wales bit, either). Kettle's on.
Good Answers: 730

Re: To pressurize 6063 aluminum tubing or not

03/13/2018 4:00 AM