Previous in Forum: SpaceX Just Recovered its 24th Falcon 9 First Stage   Next in Forum: Home Weather Station Batteries
Close
Close
Close
16 comments
Power-User
Hobbies - Musician - New Member Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member

Good Answers: 6

Materials Question: Shoes for Playing Organ

04/19/2018 3:04 PM

I work as a professional organist on the weekends. Organists wear shoes with short heels and a special sole covering designed to provide just enough grip that the shoes don't slip off the wood pedals, but also enough slide so a player can switch from toe to heel on the same pedal without lifting it.

My shoes are two years old, and the sole is worn enough that it's providing too much grip and not enough slide. The pics below show the wear on the toe as well as heel parts that I believe it causing the issue.

Can anyone think of a spray-on or very thin material that could repair these wear points? The bottom is supposed to be sort of a soft, fuzzy texture that provides the balance between grip and slide, but as you can see I've worn mine down to the actual sole, which is sticking hard to the wood.

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Hobbies - CNC - New Member Hobbies - DIY Welding - New Member Engineering Fields - Electromechanical Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 411

Re: Materials Question: Shoes for Playing Organ

04/19/2018 3:29 PM

anything you spray on has to bind to the underlayment which would be too tacky for the pedals, unless you have a (2) part where the first part binds to the underlayment and finished coating. And I don't know of any.