Previous in Forum: torque   Next in Forum: Video Editing
Close
Close
Close
4 comments
Participant

Question on using Titanium mesh in a glass kiln

03/14/2009 4:41 PM

Hi, I am a glass artist working with hot glass in a kiln and I'm looking for a mesh to melt glass over and through to create unique color patterns. Most artist use some form of stainless steel mesh which spall but even though that really isn't a major problem it's one I'm looking to get around. While looking up places to purchase the stainless steel mesh I came across a site that also sells titanium mesh. My thoughts were maybe this is a harder material, maybe no spalling, maybe it would last longer. Most mesh melts are fired between 1500 to 1700 to achieve the melting point. We can't use anything galvanized due to toxic fumes either. So I'm wondering if anyone here knows anything about how titanium mesh would react under these circumstances? I don't want to test it in my kiln and risk messing it up of getting knocked out by fumes! Thanks for listening, hope someone here knows something about this! Jeri

Login to Reply
Interested in this discussion?
You can "subscribe" to this discussion to be notified of new comments.
Click on the Subscribe menu at the top of the page.
Guru
Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 65

Re: Question on using Titanium mesh in a glass kiln

03/14/2009 7:47 PM

As a glass artist myself, I would encourage you to do the test. The melting point of titanium is 400 degrees higher than steel - which is why it is used in spacecraft and very high speed aircraft. Also, titanium is often used in surgical implants (my dad's new knee for example) so toxicity shouldn't be an issue - assuming you follow the standard precautions. I would recommend that the screen be super clean, and that you handle it as little as possible to avoid skin oils, etc.