Previous in Forum: Shiny Happy People Holding Hands   Next in Forum: Mass. Builder's License
Close
Close
Close
5 comments
Rate Comments: Nested
Commentator

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: delhi india
Posts: 79
Good Answers: 2

Is This Job Offer Legitimate?

03/16/2010 2:56 AM

Hi, i Have received an offer letter from IGL ENGINEERING OIL AND GAS COMPANY UK, need to know if it is fraud?

the company address given in letter is : 13 Dunghill Road (Shop 190) Carmarthen SA31 2AF Wales, then person from whom i have received this is : Dr. Tony Lampson, Chief Recruiting Personnel +448712375896.
I have been asked to contact Name: Continental Travels Limited. Email-continentaltravels@consultant.com Telephone: +449712375896, . please help in finding if this is spam/fraud.
thanks in advance
I am from India.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richland, WA, USA
Posts: 21017
Good Answers: 795
#1

Re: job offer

03/16/2010 3:28 AM

The "Dunghill Road" looks a bit bogus, but one never quite knows for sure. On Mount Shasta there is a place called "Bumpass Hell," whatever that might mean.

I don't know if MapQuest covers Great Britain, or if GoogleEarth does street addresses, but you might search those. Don't buy any plane tickets until you get good answers, though.

Or it might be located on a reclaimed brownfield and actually be legit. Ask carefully.

__________________
In vino veritas; in cervisia carmen; in aqua E. coli.
Register to Reply
Active Contributor

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: International
Posts: 16
#2

Re: job offer

03/16/2010 3:50 AM

An employer usually they call the candidates and interviewed maybe trhrough phones. I had a friend similar email only different company but looks similar coming from oil and gas company. If it is legit they should have called you, oil and gas companies are rich and selects cadidates carefully will certain processes. Beware of scams!

__________________
" Almost anything can be reversed through Engineering but not Human Life " WorKerZ
Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain. Kettle's on.
Posts: 32175
Good Answers: 839
#3

Re: job offer

03/16/2010 3:57 AM

Google Maps gives the address for the postcode SA31 2AF as West Wales Hospital at Dolgwili Road, Camarthen.

The similarity between the two telephone numbers is open to question.

__________________
"Did you get my e-mail?" - "The biggest problem in communication is the illusion that it has taken place" - George Bernard Shaw, 1856
Register to Reply
Anonymous Poster
#4

Re: job offer

03/16/2010 6:17 AM

Google IGL and through the links, recruitment...

You will land up here

http://www.igl-engineering.co.uk/work/recruit.htm

Simply send a mail to them and find. BTW how did they ever get your name? did you apply? are you considered a specialist in the field?

Register to Reply
Guru

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1790
Good Answers: 87
#5

Re: job offer

03/16/2010 7:29 AM

So there is your answer, yes it is a scam. Hope you did not give them any personal info.

Register to Reply
Register to Reply 5 comments
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Anonymous Poster (1); PWSlack (1); Steve S. (1); Tornado (1); WoRkerz (1)

Previous in Forum: Shiny Happy People Holding Hands   Next in Forum: Mass. Builder's License

Advertisement