Previous in Forum: Speed control   Next in Forum: What is impedence of a transformer?
Close
Close
Close
4 comments
Power-User
India - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Asia/India
Posts: 365
Good Answers: 1

Induction motor

05/01/2010 2:07 AM

Capacitors for 3 phase induction motor is necessory or not i noted no capacitor near motor but there is a big capacitor bank in sub station for whole plant.Is it the practice?

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richland, WA, USA
Posts: 20981
Good Answers: 781
#1

Re: Induction motor

05/01/2010 2:21 AM

This is one of the two main strategies for power factor correction:

1. Provide each sizable motor with a capacitor set that compensates for the typical profile of that motor.

2. Provide a bank of capacitors that that are switched in or out according to the overall power factor of whatever group of motors that are running at a time. (One way to go about this would be capacitors of x, 2x, 4x, etc., selected to add up suitably.)

What you describe looks like strategy 2.

__________________
In vino veritas; in cervisia carmen; in aqua E. coli.
Register to Reply
Power-User
India - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Asia/India
Posts: 365
Good Answers: 1
#2
In reply to #1

Re: Induction motor

05/01/2010 4:06 AM

Thank you sir.

Register to Reply
Anonymous Poster
#3

Re: Induction motor

05/01/2010 5:28 AM

some time we need capacitor near the motor as harmonics filtter or as source of reactive power compansation during the motor starting to improve the voltage profile.

Register to Reply
Power-User
India - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Electrical Engineering - New Member

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Asia/India
Posts: 365
Good Answers: 1
#4
In reply to #3

Re: Induction motor

05/01/2010 1:02 PM

Sir, Give me a solution for control of induction motor as 4 gears in a car ( speed and torque ). We are using resistance cutting step by step inorder to get speed and torque. 1st gear less speed maximum torque and in 4th maximum speed less torque. I can shine for a new idea. 5HP 3PH INDUCTION M.

Register to Reply
Register to Reply 4 comments
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Copy to Clipboard

Users who posted comments:

Anonymous Poster (1); hithuanand (2); Tornado (1)

Previous in Forum: Speed control   Next in Forum: What is impedence of a transformer?

Advertisement