Previous in Forum: Inertia   Next in Forum: Why Are There No Jacking Oil Pumps in Some Turbines in Some Powerplants?
Close
Close
Close
9 comments
Associate

Wind Watering System

01/01/2011 11:58 PM

Presently I am a undergraduate of engineering. So in my final year project, I have to design and implement wind water pumping systems. I have only basics knowledge about the wind energy systems.

I decide to design a vertical Axis wind turbine. but I don't know how to define the profile and which data I need to measure and so on? In next week end we hope to visit the site.

I only aware about measuring wind velocity by using anemometer. But In our lab that equipment is not available. so I am out of option.

I download software called FLUENT but it is not working.If there are references to learn about these things it will so grateful to me.

I am searching for helpful hands...help me to get rid of them.

With regards,

asitha

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
Popular Science - Biology - New Member Hobbies - Musician - New Member APIX Pilot Plant Design Project - Member - New Member Hobbies - CNC - New Member Fans of Old Computers - ZX-81 - New Member

Good Answers: 97

Re: Wind watering system

01/02/2011 1:10 AM

This is older technology. www.southx.co.za/windmill.htm may help.

Popular Science - Biology - New Member Hobbies - Musician - New Member APIX Pilot Plant Design Project - Member - New Member Hobbies - CNC - New Member Fans of Old Computers - ZX-81 - New Member

Good Answers: 97
In reply to #1

01/02/2011 2:37 AM

We did investigate and produced working prototypes back in about 1965. I don't have any detail available now .

Please post more detail , maybe my recall memory can be useful,

In reply to #2

01/02/2011 6:42 AM

Thanks for replying instentaniously. It would help me to understand my task and confine my boundryies.