Previous in Forum: HSLA Optimum Chemistry   Next in Forum: Stainless Steel 316L
Close
Close
Close
20 comments
Associate

How to Tile a Painted Floor

06/22/2011 8:43 PM

I'm planning to tile my floor, I'm no expert but it's my house. I want to tile the gallery but it has about 4 coats of paint that has been applied over the years. I've been painting it. What should I do in a situation like this? I do not know if the tile will hold on the painted floor with thinset and sand or if it will loosen as time goes by.

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Australia - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 251

Re: How to Tile a Painted Floor

06/22/2011 11:21 PM

My guess (Not in the tiling industry but ahd a bit to do with coatings and paints) is that provided the substrate is sound AND the paint is sound AND the adhesive mix used in the thinset is compatible to bond to the paint, then it should be good.

Trouble is that often floors would be waxed or contaminated in some way. Proper paint stripping would achieve two purposes for you. Remove any waxy coating and provide a good keyed surface for your bonding.

Again, this is my guess as it's not my field.

United States - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Mechanical Engineering - New Member Engineering Fields - Petroleum Engineering - New Member Hobbies - Target Shooting - New Member

Good Answers: 149

06/23/2011 12:21 PM

I suspect you will need to coat the floor with paint remover and scrape as much off as possible, and then sand it before laying tile.

Good Answers: 16

06/23/2011 10:31 PM