Previous in Forum: CdS Photoresistor   Next in Forum: Will Earth Leakage Protection Work on Delta?
Close
Close
Close
51 comments
Active Contributor

Solar Powered Iphone

06/27/2011 7:37 PM

Hello dear electrical engineers community! I am a mechanical engineer with basic knowledge in electricity. I think starting here for my small project is a good idea.

I want to build myself a small Iphone charger with 2x 12V-125mA solar panel. Actual Iphone charger is rated 5V-0.5A. I would like to drop the voltage without losing any power because the output of both panel is only a little higher than the needed input of the Iphone.

I do not have any specific questions and I do not expect CR4 to realise the project for me... I would only like to hear some advice about the way to obtain right voltage and current output out of these panels. Perhaps an amplifier? This is my first "solar power project", so I would like to receive some relevant infos/links/documents from you guys.

Thanks a lot, have a good day!

this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be Good Answers:

These comments received enough positive ratings to make them "good answers".

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru

Good Answers: 206

Re: Solar Powered Iphone

06/27/2011 9:52 PM

Your panel puts out 125ma. Your phone takes .5 amps, AKA 500ma. Your panels only produce 1/4 of the power. How do you see your panels as putting out more power?

Register to Reply
Guru
United States - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 140

06/27/2011 10:43 PM