Previous in Forum: 3 Phase AC Generator Direction   Next in Forum: Second Order Differential Equations
Close
Close
Close
12 comments

Direct Online Starter

02/01/2013 6:52 AM

Hello Respected Members,

I am a fresh graduate, have limited to no design experience and have just started working for a private HVAC organization as an Electrical Engineer. Now I am still in the training phase of my job. My company is working on a new project and apart from the HVAC design and installing, testing commissioning etc they are also responsible for designing and carrying out the electrical works of the HVAC equipments. Like designing the mcc, mcp and cable laying etc. (Being done by my colleagues)

Now my supervisor/instructor as part of my training has given me the autoCAD drawings of the MCC and MCP design and has asked me to figure out how the engineers have come up with the values of the all the components such as MCCB's VFD's to be used, Direct online starters for the fans and etc.

I have managed to find out the VFD's and star delta delta calculations for electric and absorption water chiller pumps as well as how the circuit breakers have been sized. But I cant figure how they managed to get a value of 10KW for a DOL. All i have for that particular fan is that it has a 4hp motor and total CFM produced by it are 19890 and external static pressure of 0.6 Inches water gallon???

Can anyone please help me out here. Please :-(

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member