Previous in Forum: Primary-secondary   Next in Forum: Reducer right?
Close
Close
Close
29 comments
Commentator

Steam Power

05/31/2007 9:07 PM

Can anyone please tell me where to learn how to make a steam engine. I need to know it all, I mean I understand how one works, but I do not understand how to design one to move a 250 lb. man and about 200 lbs. of framework in a town parade! See I own a machine shop and most of you I'm sure know that when your friends know this they think you can build anything,,,,,,,LOL,,,,,,I tell them all the time, "I only walk on water when it rains" but still when they come up with an idea guess who they know that can make it,,,,,,lol,,,,,,,,lol,,,,,I'm just an average machinist at best, I do have CNC Mills but all the rest of my stuff is manual. So knowing what I have to work with, can some of you folks direct me in the right direction.

PS,,,,if they keep messing with me, I'm gonna give them one like I made in science class in High School using a candle and tell them,,,"oh, is this not big enough?",,,,,,,,lol

Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - Indeterminate Engineering Fields - Control Engineering - New Member

Location: In the bothy, 7 chains down the line from Dodman's Lane level crossing, in the nation formerly known as Great Britain. Kettle's on.
Good Answers: 819

Re: Steam Power

06/01/2007 3:54 AM

Well, there are plenty of hobby engineering magazines available that are worthy of further study. Is there a model engineering club in town?

Hobbies - Fishing - Old Salt Hobbies - CNC - New Member United States - US - Statue of Liberty - New Member

Good Answers: 266

06/01/2007 8:12 AM

In reply to #2

06/01/2007 3:40 PM

thanks, I'll go look, and to answer the other reply no there are not any clubs that I've been able to find anyway around here.

In reply to #2

06/04/2007 5:57 AM

Hi, ozzb.