Previous in Forum: y parameter of transistor   Next in Forum: how to operate machine under low voltage ( surface griender)
Close
Close
Close
46 comments
Active Contributor

Need help on an Electric Go-Cart Project

06/09/2007 5:44 PM

I'm a Physics teacher and just received a grant to buy an Electric Go-Cart. I've assembled it and it's ready to go but now I want to make some modifications and need help.

1. I want something that acts like a governor to control the speed when younger kids are driving. I want something simple to install (no building complicated circuits - but would rather just pay extra and have it shipped to me built). I've been looking at DC motor speed controllers but not sure what I need. The go cart runs on 4, 12 volt batteries (look like they came off a golf cart but maybe smaller). Also, I want to be able to adjust the controller while presenting a lesson on resistors so I don't want to have to remove anything but just turn a knob.

2. I want to be able to kill the go-cart from a slight distance. I want a remote kill switch in case a student gets in trouble or is breaking the rules. Any ideas on this would be great!

Thanks,

Deborah Carder

Lakeside Physics

this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.
Guru
United States - Member - New Member Engineering Fields - Power Engineering - New Member

Location: California, USA, where the Godless live next door to God.
Good Answers: 796

Re: Need help on an Electric Go-Cart Project

06/09/2007 9:17 PM