Previous in Forum: Isolator and Circuit Breaker Rating   Next in Forum: Short Circuit Duration
Close
Close
Close
18 comments
Participant

Question about Vacuum Circuit Breakers

01/30/2014 3:49 AM

Recently i've been asked if there is a method,technique, formula or any means necessary to calculate or to determined the amount of force that a vcb particulary siemens sion generates at the moment of tripping. This info is so important so that the designer will able to determined what size or dimensions the cradle or casing of the vcb will be. Thank you in advance , please bear in mind that i'm a young engineer and i am new to CR4 so welcome for me.

Register to Reply
Pathfinder Tags: force VCB
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 781

Re: Question about Vacuum Circuit Breakers

01/30/2014 3:56 AM

I'm almost sure you would have to ask Siemens. If you knew the spring rate, how far stretched/compressed it is, and the weight of components it moves; you might be able to calculate. But most likely only Siemens has that information, unless you buy one and take it apart.

In reply to #1

01/30/2014 4:08 AM

OK so it ends in determining the size of the spring itself. Since we have a method on determining the force and stresses of a spring. Yes we have access and can thinker the said breaker. Thank you

Register to Reply
Guru
United Kingdom - Member - New Member

Good Answers: 180
In reply to #2

01/30/2014 6:52 AM

Force exerted by the VCB is dependant on the current being broken.

The resilience of the buffering to prevent bounce is the thing to look for.