Previous in Forum: What Is a Rotary Pulse Jet?   Next in Forum: Electro-Magnetic Separation Device In Water
Close
Close
Close
3 comments
Participant

Athletic Textiles Startup - Prototyping New Material

01/14/2015 4:55 AM

I am working in the prototyping stage of an athletic shoe project. My design relies heavily on a patent pending material that lines the inside of shoe (something like you would find in a Bikram Yoga mat). I know what I need this material to do, and how it should act, but I do not know and have not yet tested the exact physical composition of the material. I need to play with different mixtures of elastomers, to create different levels of density, abrasion resistance, compression set, weather ability, breathability, etc. (I have very little previous experience in the field) Before I raise money for the actually materials testing, I need to consult an engineer/industry professional to get a better idea of what I can expect in this materials research stage . I also need to know if I should pay for or partner with a materials professional. Is it possible to receive some consultation for free? How much of my research can be done without actually creating a square of fabric? That is, can an expert in the field help me "theoretically dial in" on my material to save time and money in lab testing? Thank you for your help, Stephen

Register to Reply
Interested in this topic? By joining CR4 you can "subscribe" to
this discussion and receive notification when new comments are added.

Comments rated to be "almost" Good Answers:

Check out these comments that don't yet have enough votes to be "official" good answers and, if you agree with them, rate them!
Guru
Technical Fields - Technical Writing - New Member Engineering Fields - Piping Design Engineering - New Member

Good Answers: 781

Re: Athletic Textiles Startup - Prototyping New Material

01/14/2015 5:27 AM