CR4® - The Engineer's Place for News and Discussion®

Previous in Forum: Forces In Abaqus   Next in Forum: Adhesive Required for Bonding of Aluminium Cup to Phosphor Bronze Bellow
Close
Close
Close
46 comments
Commentator

Location: Houston the Emerald City that would be Oz, TX serving art collectors and patrons worldwide
Good Answers: 4

Upgrading A Hydraulic Powered Mini-Crane

01/15/2018 11:16 AM

I am the Technical Partner for O’Michael Studios, Inc; we are steel sculpture fabrication company. I have a straight forward question that I need help with. While I am a technologist, my background is civil and the problem is mechanical. Our portable mini-crane is an adapted standard garage shop engine hoist. It is mounted–dismounted on our 16’ utility trailer as needed. Lifting is by a hand operated 8-ton x 18” stroke jack piston. This gives us enough force to lift a ½-ton sculpture at full boom extension in the 0° horizontal position. At full boom extension, the crown is 90” from the lifting piston attachment / fulcrum point and 108” from the column pivot point. Attached is an annotated photo of the mini-crane in working position(s). For sculptures in excess of ½-ton we use a variety of cranes, lifting machines and transporters.

The question: we wish to upgrade our mini-crane by replacing the hand pump 8-ton piston with a 12-volt electric over hydraulic pump and actuator piston combination. The nominated pair may or may not be sufficient in lifting force to replace the 8-ton jack. Duty cycle is a single lift off the trailer, rotate to installation position and set sculpture in place or the reverse to de-install the sculpture. Will this pair be able to provide the lifting force for a ½-ton sculpture at full boom extension in the 0° horizontal position?

Basic Specs for Power Unit & Lifting Piston Pair:

· Power Unit: NorTrac 12 Volt DC Hydraulic Power Unit. At 3000 RPM it delivers 3000psi with a flow of 1.5 GPM